submerged

2 (4)

Their voices then became distant mumbles
I could hear them resonate
I’d drop a word or two in the flow of their conversation
Just to reassure myself that I’m still there
That I’m not completely underwater
But it was all nothing but a background scene
Out of focus
Out of faux-self.
His radiant energy, her shimmering distant eyes,
Her heartbeat, and mine.
But I was there, inside my own shell
Though transparent enough for everyone to see
I was sitting there, and I was flooded.
A fluorescent light shone in the palm of my hand
Tracing the core of my senses
A skeleton took shape
As I joined the tips of my fingers and my hands touched
I stared at them radiate.
My crust became translucent

And it was so vividly glowing.

/2014,

Leave a Reply

